Anwar unveils Cabinet line-up, Zahid is DPM

PRIME Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim on Friday night (Dec 2) unveiled his Cabinet line-up, with Barisan Nasional’s (BN) Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi and Gabungan Parti Sarawak’s (GPS) Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof serving as his deputies.

Anwar will also serve as the finance minister, while Tengku Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz will serve as the trade minister.

The defense and economy portfolios will be held by Mohamad Hasan and Rafizi Ramli respectively.

Anthony Loke will be the transport minister while Mohamad Sabu will serve as the agriculture minister.

Other key portfolios, including health, home affairs and education will be held by Dr Zaliha Mustafa, Saifuddin Nasution Ismail and Fadhlina Sidek respectively.

Zahid andFadillah will also serve concurrently as rural development minister as well as plantation industries and commodities minister respectively.

The ministers will be sworn in on Saturday at 3pm.

In a televised address on Friday night, Anwar said: “After swearing in tomorrow, I will hold a special meeting with the ministers so that some rules, directions, new methods can be introduced in order to speed up the efforts in carrying out their duties.”

He also stressed that in his unity government, the issues of good governance, easing the people’s burden and economic development will be the top priorities.

The line-up unveiled by Anwar comprises 28 ministers, which is leaner than the recent Cabinet teams helmed by Ismail Sabri Yaakob and Muhyiddin Yassin. The list of deputy ministers has yet to be announced.

Under Ismail Sabri administration, there were 31 ministers and 38 deputies. Muhyiddin, meanwhile, had a Cabinet of 32 ministers and 38 deputies.