121 candidates compete for senior positions

EIGHT candidates will try their luck to wrest three seats as Umno vice presidents, including incumbents Mohamed Khaled Nordin and Mahdzir Khalid. Another incumbent Ismail Sabri Yaakob will not defend it.

Another six are Azalina Othman Said, Reezal Merican Naina Merican, Johari Abdul Ghani, Wan Rosdy Wan Ismail, Hasni Mohammad and Mohd Yusof Musa@Jamaludin.

For the Supreme Council position, 95 quallify including Secretary-General Ahmad Maslan, Jalaluddin Alias, Dr Zambry Abd Kadir and Tengku Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz.

A straight fight for Wanita chief is between incumbent Dr Noraini Ahmad dan veteran Shahrizat Abdul Jalil while Rosni Zahari and incumbent Norliza Abdul Rahim will go after the vice chief post.

For Youth Chief, four will contest it, namely Mohd Shahar Abdullah, Dr Muhamad Akmal Saleh, Armand Azha Abu Hanifah and Meor Hassan Mat Ali. Another four will try to become its deputy, including the son of former prime minister Mohd Nazifuddin Mohd Najib and Mohd Hairi Mad Shah.

Three candidates will contest Puteri chief post, namely Nurul Amal Mohd Fauzi, Khaidhirah Abu Zahar and Nurul Hazwani Mohd Fauzi while three for its vice chief position.