BN retains Tioman, loses Padang Serai

BARISAN Nasional (BN) retains the Tioman state seat when its candidate Datuk Seri Mohd Johari Hussain won the postponed 15th General Election (GE15) on Wednesday.

Johari won with a narrow majority of 573 votes after obtaining 8,080 votes, defeating Perikatan Nasional (PN) candidate Nor Idayu Hashim who garnered 7,507 votes, Mohd Fadzli Mohd Ramly of Pakatan Harapan (784), Osman A Bakar of Pejuang (79) and independent candidate Sulaiman Bakar (58).

However, the new PH-BN government lost to Perikatan Nasional in Padang Serai parliamentary seat.

PN’s Datuk Azman Nasrudin who is also Lunas State Assemblyman garnered a majority of 16,260 votes when he gained 51,637 votes, defeating PH’s Dr Mohamad Sofee Razak who obtained 35,377 votes, followed by Barisan Nasional (BN) candidate Datuk C Sivaraj (2,983 votes), Independent candidate Sreanandha Rao (846 votes), Pejuang candidate Hamzah Abd Rahman (424 votes) and Warisan candidate Mohd Bakhri Hashim (149 votes).