Five Umno reps in Sabah quit party

FIVE Umno assemblymen have quit the party to join chief minister Hajiji Noor’s Parti Gagasan Rakyat Sabah.

They are Yusof Yacob (Sindumin), Jasni Daya ( Pantai Dalit), Arsad Bistari (Tempasuk), Hamid Awang (Balung) and James Ratib (Sugut).

Jasni, James, Yusof and Arsad were among the five Umno assemblyman who had refused to be part of a move to oust Hajiji as the chief minister in an attempted coup in January.

Meanwhile, three Warisan assemblymen who left the party earlier this month also announced their decision to join Gagasan Rakyat.