Saarani is director for Slim by-election

KUALA LUMPUR, July 24 – UMNO Supreme Working Council meeting chaired by party president Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi tonight decided that Perak UMNO Liaison Chairman Datuk Saarani Mohamad appointed as the Slim by-election director.
UMNO secretary-general Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan said the acting head of UMNO Tanjung Malim division Mohd Zaidi Aziz is appointed director of operations for the by-election.
He and Barisan Nasional (BN) Secretary-General Tan Sri Annuar Musa will assist throughout the campaign which will take place from August 15 to 29.
Yesterday, the EC announced the nomination day on August 15 while the early voting date was August 25.
The Slim DUN seat was vacated after its incumbent Datuk Mohd Khusairi Abdul Talib, 59, died at Bentong Hospital, Pahang on July 15 due to a heart attack while playing golf at Awana Genting Highlands Golf & Country Resort.
In the 14th General Election (GE14) in 2018, Mohd Khusairi representing Barisan Nasional (BN) retained the seat with a majority of 2,183 votes defeating Parti Pribumi Bersatu candidate contesting on a PKR ticket, Mohd Amran Ibrahim and PAS candidate , Muhammad Zulfadli Zainal.
The Slim by-election is the 12th by-election held after GE14.